The Alberta Pianofest Society (APS) was formed in 2011 with the goal of providing the city of Edmonton and its surrounding region with summertime fine arts programming in the form of public classical piano recitals and children’s concerts.  Since 2013, our summer festival, Alberta Pianofest, has become a notable biennial event in Edmonton’s arts scene, presenting artists of international stature such as Stephane Lemelin, Ursula Oppens, and Jerome Lowenthal.

In November of 2017, the Alberta Pianofest Society plans to launch a new annual chamber music festival – Alberta Chamberfest – with multiple public performances planned in the Edmonton area over a four day period.  Through these Fall and Summer programmes, the APS seeks to provide opportunities for arts education at all levels (the general public, school children, and advanced piano students in their teens) while helping to invigorate the cultural life of the Capital region.

Our mission:

It is the mission of the Alberta Pianofest Society to stimulate the Edmonton area’s performing arts scene by producing a wide variety of public concerts, including traditional solo piano recitals, piano in chamber music collaboration, and piano-with-narrator concerts for families and younger children.  Bringing internationally renowned artists to Alberta from throughout Canada, the United States and beyond allows the APS to hold as part of its biennial summer festival a lakeside teaching residency of master classes and lessons for advanced piano students in their teens, and to offer many educational opportunities to the public, including in-school and public classical children’s concerts; public talks on the history, reception, and role of the arts; and piano master classes that are also open to the public.  It is this dual purpose of arts programming and educational activities that forms the mission of the Alberta Pianofest Society.

The Alberta Pianofest Society:

Executive & Artistic Director

Jason Cutmore

Board of Directors

Dale Knisely, President
Tim Lancaster, Vice President
Gary Cutmore, Secretary
Susan Hlasny
Leanne Young

Artistic Advisory Board

Aaron Au
Charles Foreman
Frank Ho
Peter Jancewicz
Dr. Milton Rubén Laufer
Michael Massey
Alexandra M. Munn
Janet Scott-Hoyt

Major Sponsors

Alberta Culture & Tourism
Alberta Foundation for the Arts
Don’s Piano Place, St. Albert
Bill Dushenski & Vivian Manasc
Edmonton Arts Council
Kingston Ross Pasnak
Francis Price & Marguerite Trussler
Touchstone Holdings • Doug Cox • Muriel Hole
RBC Foundation
Resolve ADR
Rundle’s Mission Society
Sherwood Park Chevrolet
Jack & Jo-Anne Watt